Brazilian Cup

The 2018 Brazilian Cup (or Copa do Brasil as its called in Portuguese) is underway.

The competition started in January and pits some of the country’s top sides against minnows from obscure places. Unlike the English FA Cup where the Premier League sides enter in the third round, in Brazil, all of the Serie A teams that are not involved in intercontinental competition enter in the first round.

Vitoria, Internacional, Sao Paulo, Atletico-MG, Coritiba, Atletico-PR, Fluminense have all made it through to the third round – some by the skin of their teeth. But some scalps have been claimed already: Botafogo lost to little-heard-of Aparecidense in the first round, while Sport and Parana lost to Ferroviario and Sampaio Correa in the second round.

The teams involved in the Copa Libertadores and Copa Sudamericana (South America’s equivalent of the Champions League and Europa League respectively) get a free pass until the fifth round.

Cruzeiro were the winners in 2017.

Last updated on 27 February 2018.

Follow Brazilfooty on Facebook and Twitter.