Atlético Paranaense won the 2018 edition of South America’s equivalent of the Europa League beating Junior Barranquilla in the final on penalties (after the first leg and second leg both finished 1-1).

The calendar of this competition is odd. The competition starts in February, with some first round games taking place in that month, but others take place in May. Games are played over two legs, and occasionally, in the early rounds, there can be a massive wait between ties. The final is played in December.

The cool thing about it is that you occasionally get to hear about some relatively unknown teams from the continent. Its a bit like the Brazilian Cup in that sense. The draw for the 2019 competition has been done and it includes six Brazilian sides (those that finished 9th to 14th in the league): Botafogo, Santos, Bahia, Fluminense, Corinthians, Chapecoense.

For the full draw see: Globoesporte’s 2019 guide.

Note: the competition is called Sul-Americana in Portuguese and Sudamericana in Spanish.

Last updated on 29 December 2018.

Follow Brazilfooty on Facebook and Twitter.